BIOGRAPHY


As a solo performer and polyphonist, Raphaële Kennedy devotes her artistic life to the interpretation of so-called early music and to the creation of contemporary works, with the same requirement to draw from them the palpitation of the sense and with the same desire to give the taste of them in order to transmit the emotion.

First recognized by Jordi Savall, François Lazarevitch and les Musiciens de Saint-Julien, Jean-Marc Aymes and Concerto soave, Guido Balestracci and l’Amoroso, Jean Tubéry and la Fenice, A Sei Voci, European William Byrd ensemble, Les Paladins, Le Poème Harmonique, Les Demoiselles de Saint-Cyr…, she appears in major festivals as well as in many recordings dedicated to early music.

She is also now a reference singer in contemporary music and the dedicatee of numerous works, working closely with the composers Kaija Saariaho, Jean-Baptiste Barrière, Robert Pascal, Pierre-Adrien Charpy, Philippe Leroux, Mauro Lanza, Gianvincenzo Cresta, Matteo Franceschini, Ben Foskett, Laurent Cuniot as well as with the electroacousticians Loïse Bulot and Bertrand Wolff. She has performed on the most renowned stages such as New York Carnegie Hall and Miller Theatre, CCRMA-Stanford, UC Los Angeles Center for the Art of Performance, UC Berkeley, Lucerne Festival, Salzburger Festspiele, Integra Copenhagen, Musica Strasbourg, Présences of Radio France, Agora and Manifeste of IRCAM-Paris, les Musiques of GMEM-Marseille, Manca of CIRM-Nice, the Angers-Nantes Opera, Théâtre Auditorium of Poitiers…

She is specialized in solo voice and electronics performances and she is also a regularly invited artist of TM+ (conducting Laurent Cuniot), Multilatérale and Les Métaboles (conducting Léo Warynski), Ars Nova (conducting Benoît Sitzia) and Regards. She has been a permanent member of Solistes XXI (conducting Rachid Safir).

With the composer Pierre-Adrien Charpy she manages Da Pacem, a company invested in early music, in contemporary creation and in dialogue of cultures, which the members and partners including  Sylvie Moquet, Marianne Muller, Virginie Descharmes, Stéphanie Paulet, Yannick Varlet, Jean-Luc Ho, Marine Sablonnière, Anne Magouët, Vincent Bouchot, Isabelle Deproit, Geoffroy Buffière, Valérie Dulac, Camilla Hoitenga, Marylise Florid, Serge Bertocchi, Anne Etienvre, Jean-Jacques Bédikian, Moussa Héma became over time fellow travellers. In this frame – from duo to ensemble and multidisciplinary or multimedia shows – she freely builds her work upon sensuality, theatricality and rhetoric. In this way, she puts the voice’s incarnate transparency, the correctness of the style, the spark shooting up from the angle of the wordand that declamatory gesture that makes music the amplification of the word in first place.

She has made about forty recordings, among which those of unanimously critically acclaimed Da Pacem ensemble.

Together with the composer Pierre-Adrien Charpy and the photographer and video artist Isabelle Françaix, she based musical and visual collection Avec on the record label Cypres in 2016.

Download the biography

 


PHOTOS


Raphaële Kennedy©Isabelle Françaix

 

Raphaële Kennedy©Alain Anselm

 

Raphaële Kennedy©Anne-Marie Berthon

PORTRAIT BIO


Interprète soliste et polyphoniste, Raphaële Kennedy consacre sa vie artistique à l’interprétation de la musique dite ancienne et à la création d’œuvres contemporaines, avec la même exigence d’en tirer la palpitation du sens, et le même désir d’en donner le goût afin d’en transmettre l’émotion.

Reconnue auprès de Jordi Savall, François Lazarevitch et les Musiciens de Saint-Julien, Jean-Marc Aymes et Concerto soave, Guido Balestracci et l’Amoroso, Jean Tubéry et la Fenice, Vincent Beer-Demander et la Compagnie VBD & Co, au sein d’A Sei Voci, de l’ensemble européen William Byrd, des Paladins, du Poème Harmonique, des Demoiselles de Saint-Cyr…, elle apparaît dans les grands festivals ainsi que dans nombre d’enregistrements dédiés à la musique ancienne.

Elle est aussi désormais une référence en création contemporaine et dédicataire de quantité d’œuvres. Elle a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec Kaija Saariaho et Jean-Baptiste Barrière pour leurs visual concerts ainsi qu’avec Robert Pascal. Héroïne de l’opéra de Philippe Leroux L’Annonce faite à Marie, rôle-titre de l’opéra de Laurent Cuniot L’Enfant inouï, sollicitée par Mauro Lanza, Gianvincenzo Cresta, Matteo Franceschini, Ben Foskett, Loïse Bulot, elle est en outre l’interprète privilégiée de Pierre-Adrien Charpy et a débuté un compagnonnage avec l’électroacousticien Bertrand Wolff. Elle se produit dans des salles et festivals de notoriété internationale comme Carnegie Hall et Miller Theatre à New York, CCRMA-Stanford, UC Los Angeles Center for the Art of Performance, UC Berkeley, Lucerne Festival, Salzburger Festspiele, Integra Copenhagen, Musica Strasbourg, Présences de Radio France, Agora et Manifeste de l’IRCAM-Paris, les Musiques et Propagations du GMEM-Marseille, Manca du CIRM-Nice, FIMS de Fribourg, Angers-Nantes Opéra, l’Opéra de Rennes, le Théâtre Auditorium de Poitiers…

Spécialiste du récital pour voix seule et électronique, elle est également artiste régulièrement invitée des ensembles tm+ (direction Laurent Cuniot), Ars Nova (direction Benoît Sitzia), Multilatérale et Les Métaboles (direction Léo Warynski), l’Ensemble Contemporain de l’HEMU (direction Guillaume Bourgogne). Elle a été membre permanent des Solistes XXI (direction Rachid Safir).

Elle assure la direction artistique de Da Pacem, compagnie investie dans la musique ancienne, la création contemporaine et le dialogue des cultures fondée avec le compositeur Pierre-Adrien Charpy, qui compte Sylvie Moquet, Marianne Muller, Virginie Descharmes, Stéphanie Paulet, Yannick Varlet, Jean-Luc Ho, Marine Sablonnière, Anne Magouët, Vincent Bouchot, Isabelle Deproit, Geoffroy Buffière, Valérie Dulac, Camilla Hoitenga, Marylise Florid, Serge Bertocchi, Anne Etienvre, Jean-Jacques Bédikian, Moussa Héma, Guilhem Lacroux, Alain Boeuf parmi ses membres et partenaires précieux. C’est dans ce cadre – du duo jusqu’au petit ensemble, aux spectacles pluridisciplinaires ou multimédias ainsi qu’à la fondation de la collection musicale et visuelle Avec du label Cypres – qu’elle appuie librement son travail sur la sensualité, la théâtralité et la rhétorique. Elle privilégie ainsi la transparence incarnée de la voix, la justesse de style, l’éclat qui surgit sur l’angle du mot et le geste déclamatoire qui fait de la musique l’amplification de la parole.

Elle a réalisé une quarantaine d’enregistrements discographiques, parmi lesquels ceux de Da Pacem unanimement salués par la critique.

Télécharger le portrait bio


PHOTOS


Raphaële Kennedy©Alain Boeuf


 
 
Raphaële Kennedy©Isabelle Françaix


 
 
Raphaële Kennedy©Alain Anselm


 
 
Raphaële Kennedy©Anne-Marie Berthon